A-Z Databases
Find the best library databases for your research.
Loading...
Popular Databases
Loading...
We haven't yet identified any Popular databases. Check back soon!
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.New Trial New Trial New New New New New Trial Trial New New New New New New New New New New New New New New Trial New New New Trial New New New New New New New New New New New New
17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Trial
The 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are presented in digitized format here. This collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into 17th-18th century England. The trial runs until 23rd November.
Afghanistan : the making of U.S. policy, 1973-1990 This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): DNSA Collection
Digital National Security Archive Collection
Containing over 2,000 documents that total more than 14,000 pages, Afghanistan offers a comprehensive record of the bloodiest and costliest superpower proxy war of the 1980s. Documents include State Department cables from Kabul, Washington, D.C., and Islamabad.
American fiction, 1774-1920 This link opens in a new window
American Fiction, 1774-1920 encompasses prose fiction from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I. The collection is based on authoritative bibliographies including Lyle H. Wright's American Fiction: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography, widely considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult prose fiction of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, and Geoffrey D. Smith's American Fiction, 1901-1925: A Bibliography, comprising nearly three-quarters of all adult fiction published in the United States during this time period. These texts reveal much about the socioeconomic, political, and religious tenor of America through centuries of radical change.
Temporary content available to the Library until 30th June 2023
Temporary content available to the Library until 30th June 2023
Archives of Sexuality and Gender. LGBTQ history and culture since 1940 This link opens in a new window
With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in the Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Part I presents important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community.
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II provides coverage of the development, culture, and society of LGBTQ groups in the latter half of the twentieth century. It provides new perspectives on a diverse community and the wealth of resources available in the archive allow for creating connections amongst disparate materials.
Temporary content available to the Library until 30th June 2023
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II provides coverage of the development, culture, and society of LGBTQ groups in the latter half of the twentieth century. It provides new perspectives on a diverse community and the wealth of resources available in the archive allow for creating connections amongst disparate materials.
Temporary content available to the Library until 30th June 2023
Book History Online This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): BHO
KB book history online
Koninklijke Bibliotheek book history online
An international bibliography in the field of book and library history, BHO "provides a comprehensive survey of all scholarly publications written from a historical perspective. Included are monographs, articles and reviews dealing with the history of the printed book, its arts, crafts, techniques and equipment, its economic, social and cultural environment, as well as its production, distribution, preservation and description.
British Association for the Advancement of Science – Collections on the History of Science (1830s-1970s) This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Wiley Digital Archives: British Association for the Advancement of Science (Collections on the History of Science: 1830-1970)
Archive of the British Association for the Advancement of Science
WDA: BAAS
BAAS collection
BAAS archive
The Archive of the British Association for the Advancement of Science (BAAS) and connected collections from UK universities covers astronomy, biology, technology, industrial design, chemistry, engineering, mathematics, agriculture, meteorology, physics, history of science and STEM, and government grants for scientific research. It contains primary sources, such as administrative records, correspondence, illustrations, manuscripts, photographs, prototypes, clippings, personal papers and gray literature.
China and the Modern World: Missionary, Sinology and Literary Periodicals (1817-1949) This link opens in a new window
New
Primary source materials from archives including the Second Historical Archives of China and the British Library providing an insight into China during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Missionary, sinology, and literary periodicals: A collection of 17 English-language periodicals published in, or about, China during a period of over 130 years, extending from 1817 until 1949 when the People's Republic of China was founded. This corresponds to the periods of the late Qing Dynasty and the Republican Era (1911-1949), when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic with modern approaches to politics, literature, education, public morality, and intellectual life.
Missionary, sinology, and literary periodicals: A collection of 17 English-language periodicals published in, or about, China during a period of over 130 years, extending from 1817 until 1949 when the People's Republic of China was founded. This corresponds to the periods of the late Qing Dynasty and the Republican Era (1911-1949), when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic with modern approaches to politics, literature, education, public morality, and intellectual life.
Chinese film and newsreel scripts from the Cultural Revolution online This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Chinese filmscript and advertisement collection, 1946-1985
Chinese filmscript & advertisement collection, 1946-1985
Chinese filmscript and advertisement collection
Produced mostly by the Central Newsreel and Documentary Film Studio of China, documentary films and newsreels were two of the major mass media and communication channels in China from the 1950s through the 1970s. They covered all aspects of social activities, though the emphasis was on developments and achievements in the building of a socialist country. In order to reach even broader public audiences, government agents produced and printed the transcripts and shot lists for the films and sent them to cities and rural areas. The bulk of the items in the collection are transcripts for the documentary films and newsreels from the Cultural Revolution, 1966-1976.
Churchill Documents and Official Biography This link opens in a new window
31 volume set made up of the raw materials of history; the letters, notes, memos and records of Sir Winston Churchill.
Confidential Print, Middle East, 1839-1969 This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Middle East, 1839-1969
access to the Confidential Print series issues by the British Government covering the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan.
Daily Mail Historical Archive 1896-2016 This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): includes both the Daily Mail Historical Archive and the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition
includes both the Daily Mail Historical Archive and the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition
Declassified documents online : twentieth-century British Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Twentieth-century British Intelligence
The resource brings together files from five UK government departments to provide researchers with access to detailed, previously classified information on the intelligence services of Britain and her Empire throughout the twentieth century.
(Temporary content available to the Library until 30th June 2023)
(Temporary content available to the Library until 30th June 2023)
Digital scholar lab This link opens in a new window
Digital Scholar Lab is an online tool for collecting data sets comprised of content from the subscribing institution's Gale Primary Sources subscriptions. Those data sets can then be analyzed using text analysis and visualization tools built into the Digital Scholar Lab. Digital humanities analysis methods include: Named Entity Recognition, Topic Modelling, Parts of Speech, and more.
(Temporary content available to the Library until 30th June 2023)
(Temporary content available to the Library until 30th June 2023)
Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Deutscher Klassiker im WWW
Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker
PQ1Lit
ProQuest One Literature
The texts included in the Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker range from early German writing to the works of major authors of the nineteenth century, including historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background. Scholars can follow the political and intellectual debates at the heart of Europe in the nineteenth century, for example, by reviewing texts relating to the theory of the state and the church or the theory and history of war. The Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker was completed in 2004.
Early American newspapers. Series II, 1758-1900 This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): America's historical newspapers
19th Century Early American Newspapers
Nineteenth Century Early American Newspapers
Series II complements Series I by offering more than 200 significant 18th and 19th-century newspapers. Series II focuses on the period between 1820 and 1860, when the number of American newspapers rose dramatically. Based primarily on the newspaper collection of the American Antiquarian Society, Series II also includes titles from the holdings of the Library of Congress, the Wisconsin Historical Society and other organizations.
Economist Historical Archive 2016-2020 Supplement This link opens in a new window
New
Access to 2016-2020 supplement to add to our existing archival access from 1843-2015
Foreign Office files for China, 1919-1980 This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Foreign Office files China
FO Files China
all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980
FT.com This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Financial Times
Access to the Financial Times newspaper and FT.com for the latest UK and international business finance, economic and political news, comment and analysis
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Literature Resource Center
Includes selected full-text, excerpted, and commissioned critical material from Gale's respected Literature Criticism and For Students Series. The titles in these series include: Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Drama Criticism, Drama for Students, Literature from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature of Developing Nations for Students, Novels for Students, Poetry Criticism, Poetry for Students, Shakespearean Criticism, Shakespeare for Students, Short Story Criticism, Short Stories for Students, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. In addition, users can access current, full-text critical essays on major authors via the Literature Resource Center's link to more than 130 prominent literary journals.
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present.
Geological Society of America This link opens in a new window
Access to the publications of the Geological Society of America including Geology, Geological Society of America Bulletin, Special Papers and Memoirs.
Goethes Werke This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): PQ1Lit
ProQuest One Literature
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832) was Germany's supreme poet and writer, and he exercised a profound influence on the German language of today. Goethes Werke contains the complete text of the 143 volumes of the definitive Weimar Edition. In this database, every word of Goethe's literary and scientific works, his diaries, and his letters from the Weimar Edition is included, as are all illustrations, notes, variants, and indexes from the published volumes. Also included are Goethes Gespräche and Goethes Werke, Nachträge zur Weimarer Ausgabe. The Nachträge include all Goethe's letters discovered since the Weimar Edition was finished and makes this the most complete collection of Goethe's letters in existence.
Historical statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Historical statistics of the United States : Millenial edition online
over 37,000 data series from over 1000 sources dating to colonial times that allow users to create tables and spreadsheets
Kafkas Werke This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): PQ1Lit
ProQuest One Literature
The work of Franz Kafka has been one of the defining influences that have shaped the literature of the twentieth century. Published in co-operation with S. Fischer Verlag, this is an electronic version of the critical edition of his complete works: Franz Kafka, Kritische Ausgabe, Schriften und Tagebücher.
Latin American women writers This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): PQ1Lit
ProQuest One Literature
Latin America is immense not only in its size—twice the area of Europe and stretching from the Rio Grande in Texas to Cape Horn in Patagonia—but in its range of cultural and literary expression. What we call "Latin American culture" is a composite of the rich and diverse output of 20 sovereign countries. Each had its unique struggle for independence and particular ways in which it evolved after the end of colonization. This collection comprises 100,000 pages of literary works, along with memoirs and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present. It showcases how, throughout the centuries, women wrote about their families, their economic hardships, their subjugation, and their identity. It brings together all the voices of Latin American women and presents a tool for understanding the diversity and development of Latin America through a feminine perspective.
Latino literature: poetry, drama and fiction This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): PQ1Lit
ProQuest One Literature
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. Nearly all of the content is in copyright, and most of the other items are long out of print or have never before been published. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
Literary Print Culture This link opens in a new window
Trial
"The Stationers’ Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding. Explore extremely rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century in this invaluable resource of research material for historians and literary scholars." - from Publisher's site. Trial runs 17th October. On Campus Only. No PDF downloads available during the trial.
Medieval and Early Modern Studies This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Medieval & early modern studies
primary source materials covering social, cultural, political, science and religious perspectives from 12th to early 18th centuries. Sources include manuscripts relating to Arthurian legends, early music, renaissance man, masculinity 1600-1800 and medieval and early modern women as well as several other areas.
Meiji Japan: the Edward Sylvester Morse collection from the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Edward Sylvester Morse collection
manuscripts for the study of Meiji society, culture, ethnology and education covering the period 1856-1925
Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
Using primary source materials, Migration to the New Worlds provides insight into the stories of migrants from the UK, Ireland, Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia, in the 19th and early 20th centuries. A database of letters, diaries, government papers, pamplets, shipping papers, photographs, hand-drawn maps etc from a range of archival sources.
New York Times 1851-2014 (with Index 1851-1993) This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): New York Times
The New York Times 1851-2014, with Index 1851-1993 gives access to over 160 years worth of the New York Times, from it's first issue. Providing scanned images of all articles as they originally appeared, including images.
Nineteenth century collections online. Photography This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Photography
Including images from Britain, Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas, Photography assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe.
Temporary content available to the Library until 30th June 2023
Temporary content available to the Library until 30th June 2023
Open Music Library This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): OML
An extensive index of open digital resources for the study of music
Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): OCD5
access to the 5th edition of the dictionary with new articles on gender studies, Late Antiquity, Christianity, Jewish studies, Near East, Bronze Age, linguistics and reception
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online: Medieval Prose This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): OSEO
Medieval Prose
Database making Oxford texts in Medival prose available online for the first time.
Political extremism and radicalism. Far-right and left political groups in the U.S., Europe, and Australia in the twentieth century This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Far-right and left political groups in the U.S., Europe, and Australia in the twentieth century
This archive contains a diverse mixture of materials by and about both far-right and radical left political groups, with over 600,000 pages of content and 42 oral histories, spanning the pre-war period into the twenty-first century. It contains a diverse range of content, including campaign materials, propaganda, government records, and various ephemera. The contents of this collection are available for text analysis and data mining through Gale's Digital Scholar Lab.
(Temporary content available to the Library until 30th June 2023)
(Temporary content available to the Library until 30th June 2023)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Chinese Newspapers Collection
12 English language Chinese newspapers covering the period 1832-1953
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Communist Historical Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Communist historical newspaper collection
Collection of 20th century communist American and British papers.
Publishers Weekly Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Trial
Trial runs to 12th May 2017. On-campus only.
Schillers Werke This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Schillers Werke im World Wide Web
PQ1Lit
ProQuest One Literature
Schillers Werke is the electronic edition of the Nationalausgabe of Friedrich Schiller's works. The Nationalausgabe was established in 1940 as the definitive edition of his works, letters and conversations. The edition comprises fifty-six volumes, including his poetry and plays, the translations, minor prose works, historical and philosophical writings, letters to and from Schiller, and the Conversations.
South and Southeast Asian literature in English This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): PQ1Lit
ProQuest One Literature
South and Southeast Asian Literature is a collection that showcases the literary imagination and linguistic inventiveness of Asian writers as they negotiate their varied cultural identities. It comprises thousands of pages of English-language fiction, short fiction, and poems written from the end of the colonial era to the present and gives rich insights to scholars of literature, anthropology, linguistics, postcolonial theory and criticism, history, politics, and culture.
St Andrews Encyclopaedia of Theology (In Progress) This link opens in a new window
The St Andrews Encyclopaedia of Theology is a nascent online, free-to-access encyclopaedia of the highest academic standards, treating the full discipline of Theology with rigour and clarity. Supported by St Mary's College of the University of St Andrews and generously funded by the John Templeton Foundation, it will be comparable to, and to some extent modelled on, the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, internationally recognized as a highly successful, authoritative resource and a driver of its discipline.
Targeting Iraq, part 1 : planning, invasion, and occupation, 1997-2004 This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): DNSA Collection
Digital National Security Archive Collection
"Targeting Iraq, Part 1: Planning, Invasion, and Occupation, 1997-2004 is a collection of 2,141 records, many only recently declassified, documenting U.S. policy toward Iraq from 1997 through mid-2004. Included is material from President Bill Clinton's second term, when the overthrow of Iraq's president, Saddam Hussein, became official United States policy, documents covering the invasion of Iraq in March 2003, and information on the 18 months of direct U.S. occupation.
Teatro español del siglo de oro This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): PQ1Lit
ProQuest One Literature
Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro full text database contains the most important dramatic works of sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain - more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists including Lope de Vega, Calderón de la Barca and Agustín Moreto. The editorial board of Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro have carefully selected the published editions, choosing the first editions of each volume and avoiding facsimiles. Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro brings together various editions from different European libraries.
Teatro Española del siglo de oro This link opens in a new window
Trial
"Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro full text database contains the most important dramatic works of sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain, published here in full (never before published on the World Wide Web). Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro contains more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists including Lope de Vega, Calderón de la Barca, Agustín Moreto etc." Available until 27th December 2017
Textual History of the Bible Online This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): THBO
A cross-searchable platform containing all available information regarding the textual history, textual character, translation techniques, manuscripts, and the importance of each textual witness for each book of the Hebrew Bible.
The Chinese Cultural Revolution Database This link opens in a new window
Trial
Access until 19th November. On campus only.
The Eastern Miscellany This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Eastview’s Eastern miscellany
Dong fang za zhi quan wen shu ju ku
The Eastern Miscellany online database presents the complete archive of one of the most significant publications of the Chinese
intelligentsia in the first half of the twentieth century and a significant chronicle of Republican-era China in superbly produced
full-image and full-text format with rich indexing. The Eastern Miscellany, as it is known in English, and formally entitled
Dongfang zazhi (東方雜誌), was published by The Commercial Press [上海商務印書館], one of the most venerated academic
publishers in China, from 1904-1948—a period that predates and entirely covers China’s Republican era (1912-1948). This
coincides with a period of extraordinary transition in Chinese society, from the collapse of the Qing Dynasty and two millennia of
Imperial China, through periods of warlord rule, Japanese invasion, the Second World War, communist revolution, and the
formation of today’s People’s Republic of China.
intelligentsia in the first half of the twentieth century and a significant chronicle of Republican-era China in superbly produced
full-image and full-text format with rich indexing. The Eastern Miscellany, as it is known in English, and formally entitled
Dongfang zazhi (東方雜誌), was published by The Commercial Press [上海商務印書館], one of the most venerated academic
publishers in China, from 1904-1948—a period that predates and entirely covers China’s Republican era (1912-1948). This
coincides with a period of extraordinary transition in Chinese society, from the collapse of the Qing Dynasty and two millennia of
Imperial China, through periods of warlord rule, Japanese invasion, the Second World War, communist revolution, and the
formation of today’s People’s Republic of China.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Oxford research encyclopedia. Latin American History
scholarly articles covering Latin American History from 1492 onwards. Search across the contents or use the browse by subject option to see all the topics covered
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Politics This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Oxford research encyclopedia. Politics
ORE of politics
scholarly articles covering a range of political topics. Search across the contents or use the browse by subject option to see all the topics covered
The Telegraph Historical Archive 1896-2016 This link opens in a new window
New
as well as reporting on domestic affairs The Telegraph published widely on foreign affairs and foreign cultures. The archive includes also the Sunday edition.
Twentieth century American poetry (Second edition) This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): 20th century American poetry
PQ1Lit
ProQuest One Literature
Twentieth-Century American Poetry, Second Edition combines two existing Chadwyck-Healey Literature Collections, Twentieth-Century American Poetry and Twentieth-Century African American Poetry, with over 500 volumes of material from established and emergent poets. The collection contains over 100,000 poems representing the full range of American poetry of the last century, from the major Modernist works of Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams and Djuna Barnes to the contemporary works of Robinson Jeffers, Billy Collins, Elinor Wylie and Peter Gizzi.
UN iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Trial
access to e-books, journals and statistical databases from different UN Agencies and Programmes . The trial is available on campus only and ends on 28th February 2018.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...