Physics & Astronomy: Home
JF Allen Library
The JF Allen Library is the University's main science library. Most textbooks for the sciences are held here although for research in some subjects or to consult older works you may have to use the Main Library.
It is located on the top floor of the Physics building on North Haugh. During the day it is open to all students.
For more information please see the JF Allen page on the Library website.
Search the Library
Get lean library for easier access to eresources
Ever been stuck behind a paywall for a journal article, newspaper article, or ebook?
Lean Library is a browser add-on that makes it easier to get access to these resources. Land on a webpage where you can't access a resource and Lean Library can give you a link directing you to the full-text version available through the Library subscription, or an open-access version. It saves you time looking for a login button or having to go back to Library Search to look up a title.
You can install the Lean Library browser add-on in most browser download.leanlibrary.com/
More information about Lean Library can be found in our guide libguides.st-andrews.ac.uk/lean
Journals
Search to see if the Library has a subscription to a journal.
Reading Lists
Access your reading lists and get a direct link to the catalogue or electronic resource through our reading list service (Astronomy lists / Physics lists). Also accessible through Moodle, MMS and iSaint.
Key Databases for Physics & Astronomy
- Library search This link opens in a new windowa single access point to many of the Library's e-resources - databases, e-journals, e-books and print books.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowa large multidisciplinary abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. Covers over 19,000 journal titles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary citation database with coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. For off campus access sign in using your Athens username and password
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new windowOpen access to over 600,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowEasy to search but can produce an overwhelming number of results and doesn't tell you whether we have access to the full text version.
- Science DirectAccess to the journals from the Publisher Elsevier. Note the Library has only subscribed to some of these journals so they won't always be available full text.
Subject Guide
Useful Links
Useful Search & Reference Resources
Credo Reference is a collection of serveral hundred major reference books including dictionaries, encyclopaedias and thesauri. It has several Astronomy & Physics reference works such as Astronomy Encyclopedia, Dictionary of Astronomy, Encyclopedia of the Solar System, Guide to Stars and Planets, Illustrated Dictionary of Science, McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms and The Penguin Dictionary of Physics
Wolfram Alpha is a science search engine that also lets you carry out calculations.