Skip to main content

Music: Home

Guide to library resources for Music

Finding Music Scores

The Library's collection of music scores is held on Level 4 of the Main Library.  We have a very large number of older scores, particularly pre-1950 and even pre 1900 as well as more recent material.

For all well-known composers, we should have all the critical editions as well as practical editions.

  • Scores (including miniature scores) are at classmark M
  • Literature about Music is at classmark ML
  • Musical instruction and study is at classmark MT

To find a specific score:

  • Search SAULCAT, the online catalogue.
    Composer's name and / or keywords from the title of the work will help retrieve details of the score.

If you are unable to find the score you need then the Music Scores Catalogue is in a separate volume at the end of the A-Z sequence of PAGE-CAT. This catalogue is arranged alphabetically by composer. PAGE-CAT is available on microfiche. Please ask a member of staff or e-mail us at library@st-andrews.ac.uk if you would like assistance in finding items listed in PAGE-CAT

To find a range of free Music Scores which are available online use the Internet Resources tab at the top of the screen.

Welcome

Welcome to your Subject Guide for Music. Specialist resources for music are listed below. These will help you find journal articles and other academic material and also include sound databases allowing you to listen to a range of music and view opera. You'll find information about our music scores collection on the left of the screen.

Music Resources

Below is a list of music databases. Use these to find  articles from journals and professional publications, detailed essays from books and reference works, biographies and primary source material.

Music & Sound Databases

Image Databases

SEEKER allows you to search multiple library databases at once and is particularly useful for finding interdisciplinary material. Results will include relevant books, journal articles, newspapers and theses. Use the Advanced Search to combine your keywords.

You'll find a number of useful options on the SEEKER screen. Ticking "You have access (print or online) will bring back all the items that are available to you at St Andrews.

Loading ...

Concert adverts, programs and reviews

The Library has access to a number of useful sources for finding adverts, programs and reviews relating to concerts and music festivals.

19th Century

20th and 21st Century

Subject Guide

Hilda McNae's picture
Hilda McNae
Contact:
Senior Librarian (Academic Liaison)

University of St Andrews Library, KY16 9TR

Tel: 01334 462298

Music Collections

New Music books in the Library

Loading ...