Italian: Home
Department of Italian
Lectura Dantis Andreapolitana
Follow the webpage for the Lectura Dantis Andreapolitana, a public reading of all 100 cantos of Dante's Divine Comedy, canto by canto. Organised by Robert Wilson and Claudia Rossignoli, this is the first complete lectura dantis of its kind in the UK, and is open to all members of the University and to the public. The Lectura meets four times a year, and each meeting will normally cover four cantos.
Reading Lists for Italian
Click here to find electronic reading lists available in your subject area.
Library's A-Z List of Databases
- A-Z Databases This link opens in a new window
The Library subscribes to over 200 networked databases. Follow this link to see the full alphabetical list.
Google Books
Welcome
Welcome to your Subject Guide for Italian. It offers some basic guidance on how to find and use the Library's resources in this subject area. Please note that this is only a little of what is available. You are welcome to contact me for more detailed help in finding information for your assignments, dissertations and research projects.
Databases for Italian
- Torrossa.it! Editoria Italiano Online This link opens in a new windowCasalini libri's full text platform offers access to e-books and e-journals from over 150 Italian publishers.
- Italian Reformation, Part I (Primary Sources Online) This link opens in a new windowa collection of 145 primary texts which summarise the diversity of the theological profile of the Italian Reformation, as held by the Fondo Guicciardini, Central National Library, Florence. (Please note that certain system requirements are essential in order to access this e-resource, including the requirement to download the DjVu browser plugin.)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowperiodicals archive of over 2,000 leading scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Over fifty million pages of content
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowindex of articles from over 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and relevant articles, reviews, proceedings in more than 5,000 social science and science journals.
- ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new windowFull-text of more than 500,000 primary works (poetry, drama and prose from the eighth century to the present) including rare texts, multiple versions and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances and author readings. Citations to journals, monographs,dissertations and book reviews, many of which are in full-text.
What is a Database and Why Should I Use One?
The Library's electronic databases contain thousands of journal articles, books, book chapters, theses and newspapers which may be of use to you in your studies. Students and staff have free, direct access to these databases from anywhere in the University, though you will need your University username and password if you wish to connect to them from off-campus.
Material in the Library's databases has been quality assured before publication. As the articles they obtain are "peer-reviewed" by specialists in the relevant field, these databases provide you with accurate, reliable sources of information in a way that more random, unstructured searching of the internet cannot.
Most databases permit searching by keyword, author and title, and in many cases the full text of the article you want will be directly available via a link on the screen. When this is not possible, expecially when a journal exists in print only, you will have to check the Library Catalogue, SAULCAT, to see if we have it in stock.
