Primary sources of information are original materials which include first hand testimonies or direct evidence from the time. The collections in the Main Library include diaries, letters and the records of organisations and government agencies. You will find additional primary sources of information in Special Collections, National Libraries and other Archives.
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time.
The University has access to
• CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010
• CIA Family Jewels Indexed
• The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update
• Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980
• The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988
• Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994
• South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989
- Login with your University of St Andrews username and password at the University of St Andrews Single Sign-on page
This digital facsimile of Foreign Relations of the United States (from 1861-1960) is a project of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries in collaboration with the University of Illinois at Chicago Libraries. Note that it is an incomplete run and not all volumes are available in full-text.
PDFs of over 200,000 House of Commons Sessional Papers. Covers 18th Century (1688-1834); 19th Century (1801-1900); 20th Century (1901-2004), and Current (2004 session onwards). Also includes the full-text of Hansard (1803-2005).
Click on Remote users: login via your home organization
- select United Kingdom (UK Access Management Federation for Education and Research)
- select University of St Andrews
- and login through the SSO (Single Sign On) page, using your University Account Username and Password
The Digital Archive contains newly declassified historical materials from archives around the world—including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence and meeting minutes. It collects the research of three Wilson Center projects which focus on the interrelated histories of the Cold War, Korea, and Nuclear Proliferation