Skip to main content

German: Home

Useful resources and databases for students of German available either via the library or on the internet

Department of German

Reading Lists for German

Click here to find electronic reading lists available in your subject area.

Library's A-Z List of Databases

The Library subscribes to over 200 networked databases.  Follow this link to see the full alphabetical list.

Google Books

Welcome

Welcome to your Subject Guide for German. It offers some basic guidance on how to find and use the Library's resources in this subject area.  Please note that this is only a little of what is available.  You are welcome to contact me for more detailed help in finding information for your assignments, dissertations and research projects.

Major German Databases

BDSL Homepage

General Databases for German

What is a Database and Why Should I Use One?

The Library's electronic databases contain thousands of journal articles, books, book chapters, theses and newspapers which may be of use to you in your studies.  Students and staff have free, direct access to these databases from anywhere in the University, though you will need your University username and password if you wish to connect to them from off-campus.

Material in the Library's databases has been quality assured before publication.  As the articles they obtain are "peer-reviewed" by specialists in the relevant field, these databases provide you with accurate, reliable sources of information in a way that more random, unstructured searching of the internet cannot.

Most databases permit searching by keyword, author and title, and in many cases the full text of the article you want will be directly available via a link on the screen.  When this is not possible, expecially when a journal exists in print only, you will have to check the Library Catalogue, SAULCAT, to see if we have it in stock.

Have you tried SEEKER?

SEEKER is a new search service which allows you to do a single search across most of the Library's resources - its many online databases as well as SAULCAT, the Library catalogue.

Search in SEEKER to retrieve details of relevant print and online resources quickly and easily.

Direct access from on-campus, but please login with your University username and password from off-campus.

Find SEEKER in the main search box on the Library's homepage.

How to find a book

How to find a journal

Subject Guide

Vicki Cormie
Contact:
University Library
North Street
St Andrews
Fife
KY16 9TR
01334 462314
Social:Twitter Page

SAULCAT: Search the Library Catalogue

New Modern Languages books in the Library

Loading