Film Studies: Home
Welcome
Welcome to your Subject Guide for Film Studies. It offers some basic guidance on how to find and use the Library's resources in this subject area.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new windowGuidance on citing sources and reference formats
Find theses
- Proquest Dissertations and Theses with Full Text (PQDT) This link opens in a new windowthe world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day
Film Collections
The library holds over 12,000 DVDs and Blu-Rays. These are primarily selected to support the Department of Film Studies and include films and holdings of extremely rare reference materials such as ethnographic films and documentaries by filmmakers like Frederick Wiseman and Jean Rouch.
Find out which DVDs we've purchased recently in the box to the right.
Search the library collections to find which DVDs and Blu-Rays are available.
Enter a title, keyword or director into the search box.
If you get a lot of results then you can refine the search by selecting Audiovisual from the Format option on the left-hand side of the screen.
You might also find it useful to refine your search by the Genre option. This would allow you to find specific types of film, for example silent films, adaptations, animation.
Some essential viewing for modules has been made available digitally so please consult your module reading list before searching the DVD collection.
Only some of the Library's DVDs and Blu-Rays are borrowable. If you do not have access to your own player then the Library has a small number of external DVD drives which can be borrowed from the Library Service Desk in the Main Library. A DVD and Blu Ray viewing station are also available on Level 4 of the Main Library for viewing any reference only DVDs. T
Some of our DVD collection is held at the Walter Bower House Library and is reference only. Please contact library@st-andrews.ac.uk if you wish to view these titles. A DVD player is available at Walter Bower House.
Resources available via the Library:
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new windowBoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education; Users can record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels and an extensive archive of tv and radio broadcasts. You can create and share playlists and clips. NB: BoB is NOT AVAILABLE outside the UK.
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new windowover 1800 documentary films as well as video, written ethnographies, field notes, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowan online streaming service providing access to films and top documentaries. Access is available to a small number of titles only, selected to support current teaching needs.
Freely available content:
- EUscreen This link opens in a new windowprovides free access to thousands of items of archived European TV footage
- Internet Archive: MoviesFeature films, classic shorts, documentaries and trailers
- Moving Image Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Moving Image Archive is Scotland's national collection of moving image held at the National Library of Scotland, the catalogue provides access to over 2,000 clips and full-length films.
- Roundabout This link opens in a new window600 Technicolor films from the cinemagazine Roundabout (1962-1974)
It was designed to promote British values, manufacturing and the ethos of the Commonwealth to audiences.
Library Resources for Film Studies
Search on the Library Homepage allows you to search multiple Library databases at once. Results will include books, journal articles, newspapers, theses, etc. as well as materials held in Special Collections and Museum Collections.
In the search results use the filters on the left to narrow down the results.
Use the "Library Catalogue" filter to restrict to books etc. held in the Library, or use the "Format" filter to select e.g. journal articles, and then select the "Full-text" filter to restrict the search to items you have full-text access to.
Screen Studies Collection is the main specialist database for Film Studies. A survey of current publications relating to film scholarship alongside filmographies. The database contains three different indexes: American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog; FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals; and the British Film Institute's Film Index International. The indexes can be searched in one go or individually by using the links below.
- American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog This link opens in a new windowcovers history of American cinema from 1893 to 1975 with full or short records from 1976 onwards. Available via Screen Studies database.
- FIAF (The International Federation of Film Archives) Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowcontains FIAF’s Treasures from Film Archives, a selection of reference volumes, article abstracts and some full-text journals that reflect film holdings from archives around the world. Available via Screen Studies database.
- Film Index International This link opens in a new windowfrom British Film Institute this resource indexes films from over 170 countries and can be searched both by film but also by person. Available via Screen Studies database.
Other specialist databases include:
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowfull text for 120 journals and 100 books, plus indexing for 380+ publications in film and television theory, screenwriting, production, cinematography, reviews.
- Moving Image GatewayFrom database:
This Gateway includes over 1,400 websites relating to moving image and sound materials. These have been subdivided into over 40 subject areas
- TRILT (Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching) This link opens in a new windowUK television and radio data on the web, with over 300 TV/radio channels, from 1995 onwards. enables customised automated alerts for forthcoming programmes up to 10 days in advance; and highlights programmes for which a DVD copy may be requested
- British Library Sounds This link opens in a new windowOver 50,000 unique sound recordings from all over the world, covering the entire range of recorded sound - music, drama and literature, oral history, accents and dialects, sound recording history, wildlife and environmental sounds. Smaller subset of sounds is available without logging in at http://sounds.bl.uk
- Defining Gender 1450-1910 This link opens in a new windowexplores the study and analysis of gender. Primary sources from the fifteenth to early twentieth century provide an insight into both traditional models of gender and contemporary perceptions
- Drama Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of plays from across the history of the theatre, ranging from Aeschylus to the present day. Includes non-English-language works in translation, scholarly and critical editions, first night program texts, and critical analysis and contextual information. Also includes over 500 images from the Victoria and Albert Museum's archive of production photos.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowperiodicals archive of over 2,000 leading scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Over fifty million pages of content
- The Listener Historical Archive This link opens in a new windowdeveloped as the medium for reproducing broadcasts, The Listener (1929-1991) was the weekly newspaper published by the BBC. Provides an insight into the intellectual and cultural history of the twentieth century, and also to the golden years of radio and television.
- MLA International Bibliography (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowindex to papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies on literature, language, linguistics and folklore, from 1926 onward. Produced by the Modern Language Association of America
- ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new windowFull-text of more than 500,000 primary works (poetry, drama and prose from the eighth century to the present) including rare texts, multiple versions and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances and author readings. Citations to journals, monographs,dissertations and book reviews, many of which are in full-text.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowa large multidisciplinary abstracting and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. Covers over 19,000 journal titles.
Subject Guide
University of St Andrews Library, KY16 9TR
Tel: 01334 462298