English: Reference Works
Here is a small list of reference works which are available to you. Search our collections to find individual titles. Alternatively use the reference collections listed on the right hand side of the page to search across multiple reference works at once or browse by topic.
Bloomsbury Thesaurus: synonyms, alternatives, and a fascinating network of cross-references, reflecting both technical and day-to-day aspects of Modern English
Dictionary of Irish Biography: Contains over 9,000 biographical articles which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.
Oxford English Dictionary Online: entries contain detailed etymological analysis, and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English language sources from around the world, making the OED a unique historical record. Updated quarterly
access to Cambridge Histories- Literary Studies. 63 multi-volume works including The Cambridge History of the English Novel, The Cambridge History of Postcolonial Literature, The Cambridge History of Early Medieval English Literature, The Cambridge History of Literary Criticism.
Cambridge Companions Online - You can access the complete Cambridge Companions series including The Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics.
a cross-searchable collection of reference works. As well as general reference works (dictionaries, thesauri etc) specific subject works are also available. The literature collection includes works covering different time periods and genres.
a collection of general and subject related reference works. Particularly useful for Biographies. Choose the Find a Book option at the top of the screen and then select Literature from the list of areas in order to see relevant volumes.