Skip to main content

Ebook Collections: Cambridge Ebooks

This guide highlights a range of ebook collections, giving details on the content of the collections, and how to use them

Cambridge Ebook Collections

Cambridge have 3 ebook collections:

  • Cambridge Books Online: A collection of over 20000 titles.  The University has full-text access to c.2500 these titles.
  • Cambridge Companions Online: A collection of over 500 titles, all of which are full-text.
  • Cambridge Histories Online: A collection of over 300 titles, all of which are full-text

More information on each collection can be found below.

Cambridge Books Online

Cambridge Books Online (CBO) is a collection of over 20000 titles. The content is divided into 5 main subjects:

  • Humanities
  • Social Sciences
  • Science and Engineering
  • Medicine
  • English Language Teaching

Finding an Ebook on Cambridge Books Online

All the Ebooks available to you through Cambridge Books Online can be found using SAULCAT.  When you find a Cambridge Books Online title on SAULCAT, click the "Connect to e-book" link.

Logging-on

If you are off-campus you will need to login to view Ebooks on Cambridge Books Online:

  • From the Cambridge Books Online service - click the Login option on the right of the screen
  • Choose Institutional Login
  • Scroll down the list of Institutions and select University of St Andrews
  • At the University of St Andrews SSO page, enter you username and password
  • You are now logged in

On-campus users don't need to login.

Can I access all the Ebooks on Cambridge Books Online?

The university currently has access to approximately 2000 titles.  If you want to search Cambridge Books Online, and limit the search to full-text content, use the Advance Search option, and tick the boxes Cambridge Books Online and Limit to Your Access.


If you are Browsing Cambridge Books Online you will be able to access the full-text of any title with the icon (P = Purchased). Items without this icon aren't available to you as full-text, however you can have a 5-minute preview to any title we don't have access to.

 

Remember all the titles available to you can be found on SAULCAT.

Reading Online, Printing and Downloading

When you access any of the titles, the top of the page will contain details about the book, and below this a tabbed area, with a tab for Content.  Click the Content tab to see the Table of Contents.  Each section is available as a PDF.  You can choose to read as much of the book as you want on the screen by clicking Read PDF

 

  • You are able to print or download 1 chapter, or between 5% and 20% of the book, whichever is greatest, during a given 4-week period.  The amount you can print or download varies from title to title.  In most cases you cannot print or download a whole book.
  • To print a chapter, select Read PDF from the contents area, and once the PDF has opened click the Printer icon on the PDF browser
  • To download a chapter, select Read PDF from the contents area, and once the PDF has opened click the Download or Save icon  on the PDF browser.

Using Mobile Devices

All the files in Cambridge Books Online are PDF files, so as long as you have a PDF reader, you  will be able to view and download chapters from Cambridge Online Books onto your own devices.

Cambridge Companions Online

Cambridge Companions Online is a collection of over 500 titles, each of which is an authoritative guide written by experts.  Each volume covers an individual author, philosopher or philosophy, composer,  or theory .  Content is divided into 4 collections:

  • Cambridge Companions (all titles).
  • Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics.
  • Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture.
  • Cambridge Companions to Music.

Finding an Ebook on Cambridge Companions Online

All the Ebooks available to you through Cambridge Companions Online can be found using SAULCAT.  When you find a Cambridge Companions Online title on SAULCAT, click the "Connect to e-book" link.

Logging-on

If you are off-campus you will need to login to view Ebooks on Cambridge Companions Online:

  • From the Cambridge Companions Online service - click the Login option on the right of the screen.
  • Choose Institutional Login.
  • Scroll down the list of Institutions and select University of St Andrews.
  • At the University of St Andrews SSO page, enter you username and password.
  • You are now logged in.

On-campus users don't need to login.

Can I access all the Ebooks on Cambridge Companions Online?

Yes - all the content is available full-text.

Reading Online, Printing and Downloading

When you access any of the titles, the top of the page will contain details about the book, and below this a tabbed area, with a tab for Content.  Click the Content tab to see the table of contents.  Each section is available as a PDF.  You can choose to read as much of the book as you want on the screen by clicking Read PDF.  You can also use the dropdown menu to select a specific chapter.

  • You are able to print or download 1 chapter, or 5% of the book, whichever is greatest.
  • To print a chapter, select Read PDF from the contents area, and once the PDF has opened click the Printer icon in the PDF browser.
  • To download a chapter, select Read PDF from the contents area, and once the PDF has opened click the Save icon in the PDF browser.

Using Mobile Devices

All the files in Cambridge Companions Online are PDF files, so as long as you have a PDF reader, you  will be able to view and download chapters from Cambridge Companions Books onto your own devices.

Cambridge Histories Online

Cambridge Histories Online is a collection of over 300 titles.  Each volume covers a specific historical topic. Content is divided into:

   American History                                        British History                                                         Economic History     

   General History                                            History of Science                                                 History of the Book                         

   Language and Linguistics                         Literary Studies                                                     Music                       

   Philosophy                                                     Politics and Social Theory                                  Regional History

   Religious Studies                                        Theatre Studies and Performing Arts              Warfare   

 

 

 

Finding an Ebook on Cambridge Histories Online

All the Ebooks available to you through Cambridge Histories Online can be found using SAULCAT.  When you find a Cambridge Histories Online title on SAULCAT, click the "Connect to e-book" link.

Logging-on

If you are off-campus you will need to login to view Ebooks on Cambridge Histories Online:

  • From the Cambridge Histories Online service - click the Login option on the right of the screen.
  • Choose Institutional Login.
  • Scroll down the list of Institutions and select University of St Andrews.
  • At the University of St Andrews SSO page, enter you username and password.
  • You are now logged in.

On-campus users don't need to login.

Can I access all the Ebooks on Cambridge Histories Online?

Yes - all the content is available full-text.

Reading Online, Printing and Downloading

When you access any of the titles, the top of the page will contain details about the book, and below this a tabbed area, with a tab for Content.  Click the Content tab to see the Table of Contents.  Each section is available as a PDF.  You can choose to read as much of the book as you want on the screen by clicking Read PDF.  You can also use the dropdown menu to select a specific chapter.

  • You are able to print or download 1 chapter, or 5% of the book, whichever is greatest.
  • To print a chapter, select Read PDF from the contents area, and once the PDF has opened click the Printer icon in the PDF browser.
  • To download a chapter, select Read PDF from the contents area, and once the PDF has opened click the Save icon in the PDF browser.

Using Mobile Devices

All the files in Cambridge Histories Online are PDF files, so as long as you have a PDF reader, you  will be able to view and download chapters from Cambridge Companions Books onto your own devices.

Examples of Cambridge Online Books

When you click the book image or title you will be taken to the record on SAULCAT, from here you can open the link to the ebook.

Examples of Cambridge Companions Online titles

When you click the book image or title you will be taken to the record on SAULCAT, from here you can open the link to the ebook.

Examples of Cambridge Histories Online Titles

When you click the book image or title you will be taken to the record on SAULCAT, from here you can open the link to the ebook.

Ask a Librarian

Need help? Chat to Library Staff, Monday - Friday, 9.00-17.00 using the box below.  When "Ask a Librarian" is unavailable email library@st-andrews.ac.uk with your question.