Skip to main content

Ebook Collections: Wiley E-books

This guide highlights a range of ebook collections, giving details on the content of the collections, and how to use them

About Wiley Online Library E-books

Wiley Online Library  provides access journal articles and E-books published by Blackwells, Wiley or Blackwells/Wiley. This page focusses on the E-book content.

There are over 10,000 e-book titles on Wiley Online Library, with the University of St Andrews having bought access to approximately 150 full-text titles.  In addition we have trial access to all Wiley Ebooks published in 2013-2014, and 2014-2015 through a SHEDL trial, currently more than 2000 titles.

Finding E-books on Wiley Online Library

All the E-books available to you through Wiley Online Library can be found using SAULCAT. When you find a Wiley E-book, click the "Connect to e-book" link.

Log-in Instructions

On-campus there is no need to login.

Off-campus:

  • From the SAULCAT record for a Wiley E-book right click "Connect to E-Book", and choose to "open in a new tab"
  • Go to the new tab, the record for the E-book will open in the Wiley Online Library platform, you need to login to view the full-text;
  • Select Login/Register at the top right of the page, then choose Institutional Login
  • In the Institution Name box, enter University of St Andrews and click Login
  • At the University of St Andrews SSO page enter your username and password
  • You are now logged in and can access full-text

Sometimes Wiley Online E-book titles don't resolve correctly off-campus.  Instead of taking you straight to the e-book after logging in, you may be taken to the Wiley Online Library homepage.  If this happens select the Saulcat tab on your browser, which contains the book record, and click "Connect to ebook".  As you have already logged in, the ebook content will be available to you.

Viewing and Searching Wiley E-books

Viewing Wiley Ebooks


When you access a Wiley E-book through SAULCAT you will see information about the title including Author, Title, etc; a summary of the book, followed by the content of the book.

Click the title of a chapter to view it or select the PDF option.

Searching within Wiley Online Library for E-books


All Wiley Online Library E-books can be found on SAULCAT, however you can search within Wiley Online Library for e-books.  To do so:

  • From the Wiley Online Library homepage select Publications located at the top left of the page
  • To limit a search to e-books, select the Books option at the right of the page 
  • Search using your search terms. NB: there's no function to limit to content which you have full-text access to
  • Items which are available to you full-text will have an open padlock icon  to the left of the title.  For items without the open padlock icon, you will only be able to view the table of contents.

Printing and Downloading from Wiley Ebooks

All Wiley Online Library ebooks which you have full-text access to are supplied on a Digital Rights Management (DRM) Free basis, allowing you to print or save up to 100% of the ebook for your own use.

All ebooks on Wiley Online Library provide a table of contents, with a PDF of each chapter/section within the book.

Printing/Downloading


To print or download from a Wiley Online Library ebook, select the PDF option for the chapter you want to print.  You can print as many chapters as you need.  Currently there's no option to print or download the whole ebook, you need to do this a chapter at a time.

Using Wiley Online Library E-books with Mobile Devices

Wiley Online Library E-books are provided in PDF format, allowing you to download and read these on mobile devices using your internet browser.  Ensure you have a suitable PDF reader installed on your device, e.g. Adobe Digital Editions, or Bluefire App before you try to download a PDF.

Introduction to Wiley Online Library

This video describes some of the features of the Wiley Online Ebook platform

Examples of Wiley E-books

When you click the book image or title you will be taken to the record on SAULCAT, from here you can open the link to the ebook.

Ask a Librarian

Need help? Chat to Library Staff, Monday - Friday, 9.00-17.00 using the box below.  When "Ask a Librarian" is unavailable email library@st-andrews.ac.uk with your question.