Skip to main content

Ebook Collections: EBSCO E-books

This guide highlights a range of ebook collections, giving details on the content of the collections, and how to use them

About EBSCO E-books

  

EBSCO E-books is an ebook platform, providing access to E-books from a range of publishers, and covering a wide range of subjects.


Key facts:

  • There are over 350 titles available 
  • All titles are available as full-text documents
  • 90% of the titles can be downloaded for use on your PC, Mac or Device (this is a temporary file which deletes after 24 hours)
  • You can create customised PDF files of up to 60 pages from an EBSCO E-book, for printing or saving
  • Access to some titles is limited to 3 concurrent users.  If you see the message "Sorry this ebook is in use" try again later.

 

EBSCO Information Services /EBSCOhost is the registered trademark of EBSCO Information Services

Accessing EBSCO Ebooks

All titles held on EBSCO E-books can be found on SAULCAT.  From the record on SAULCAT select the link "connect to ebook" to access the book.

 

If you are on-campus you don't need to login.

 

If you are off-campus, to login:

  • Use the links from SAULCAT or the direct link to EBSCo E-books
  • At the EBSCO login page select Shibboleth Login 
  • From the dropdown menu "Select your region or group" select UK Higher Education
  • Scroll down the list of institutions and select University of St Andrews
  • At the University of St Andrews SSO enter you username and password

Once logged in you are taken to the book record, from here you can choose to:

  • view the full-text of the ebook (all titles), or
  • download the ebook (approx. 90% of  titles). 

 

Can I access all content on EBSCO E-books


Yes, you can access all the titles shown on the EBSCO E-books service.

 

Are there any limits on the number of concurrent users who can access a title?


Yes, there is a limit of 3 concurrent users with some titles.  If all 3 sessions are in use, you'll see the message "Sorry, this ebook is in use"

Once someone else has finished using the ebook you should be able to use it, you'll need to refresh the page.

Please note that both the E-book Full-text option (read online) and the Download option count as a user session, so if you download a title you are using one license for 24 hours.  If you know that your whole class need to read the book, it's best not to download it.  If you only need a specific chapter of the book you are able to download and save just the chapter you need, once you logout or shut down the ebook you will release it for another user to view.  More information about these features is given below.

Software / Account requirements

We recommend you use the read online option rather than downloading an ebook.  However if you need off-line access to an ebook then you can download it for a 24 hour period.

Software requirements

Before you try to Download an Ebook from EBSCO E-book collection you will need to ensure that your PC/MAC has Adobe Digitial Editions installed.  All University PCs have this software installed.

 

If you want to download to a tablet/mobile device you need to have the Bluefire Reader installed, available through the  App store for Apple users, or Google Play for Android.

 

My EBSCOhost Account

If you want to download an Ebook you will also need to create a My EBSCOhost account.  When you choose the Download option  you will be asked to sign in or create an account :

 

If you have already created an account choose the Sign In option, if not choose Create a new Account, and complete and submit a new account form.

You cannot download from EBSCO E-books without a My EBSCOHost account.


You do not need to create a MyEBSCOhost account to use the Full-text online option  to read the Ebook online, or print/download a section.

Printing, Saving Sections and Downloading

With EBSCO E-books you can choose to:

  • Read the full-text online (all books)
  • Print sections of up to 60 pages (all books)
  • Save sections of up to 60 pages as PDF (all books)
  • Download the whole book for offline use for a 24 hour period (90% of books)

Read Online

To read the full-text of an entire ebook choose the E-book Full-text option 

The ebook reader will open with the Book displayed in the central area, and the book details, and Table of Contents displayed on the left-hand side of the screen, you can use the Table of Contents to move to the part of the book you want to view.

Use the navigation arrows as the bottom of the ebook to move to the previous or next page, or enter a page number in the box.

Up to three users can access the ebook at the same time.

Printing/Saving 

Using the E-book Full-Text option  you can choose to print a range of pages from a title, or save as a PDF:

  • With the book open in the E-Book Full-Text view, and the chapter/section you want to Print or Save in view,  use the toolbar located on the right of the screen, and select the "Save Pages" option 
  • You are given a summary of the number of pages you can print, and options to select Current PageCurrent Page and next xx pages, or This Section

  • Choose the option you want and click Save PDF 
  • A PDF will download or open (depending on your browser) and you can choose to Save the PDF or Print it.

Where a class has been advised to read a chapter of an ebook available through EBSCO E-books, you are advised to choose the Save Pages option for the section/chapter you require.  In order to ensure the rest of the class has an opportunity to do the same you are advised to close the ebook once you have finished with it.

Downloading the Ebook

You can download an EBSCO Ebook for a period of 24 hours to you PC, Mac or mobile device.  Before you download ensure you have Abode Digital Editions installed on you PC or Mac (already installed on all University of St Andrews PCs) or the Bluefire Reader App installed on you mobile device (Apple iOS and Android)

To Download the ebook:

  • Choose the Download (Offline) option  available on the book home page, or within the Ebook full-text option
  • Sign in to your MyEBSCOhost account (or create an account)
  • Once signed in choose the Checkout and Download option 

  • The book will download as a PDF file which will automatically delete after 24 hours have passed

Please note that Downloading an ebook will use 1 of the 3 licenses available for the 24 hour period, you cannot "return" the ebook to allow someone else access.  So if the book is a core reading for your class you may prefer to use the Read Online option, or to Print/Save the section you need to read.  If you need access beyond the 24 hour period you can choose to download again.

See the Video Tutorial, on the right of this guide, from EBSCOhost Downloading EBSCO eBooks - Tutorial.

Examples of EBSCO E-books

When you click the book image or title you will be taken to the record on SAULCAT, from here you can open the link to the ebook.

Searching EBSCO E-books

Downloading EBSCO E-books

Using EBSCO E-books on an iPad

Ask a Librarian

Need help? Chat to Library Staff, Monday - Friday, 9.00-17.00 using the box below.  When "Ask a Librarian" is unavailable email library@st-andrews.ac.uk with your question.