Skip to main content

Ebook Collections: ACLS Humanities E-Books

This guide highlights a range of ebook collections, giving details on the content of the collections, and how to use them

About ACLS Humanities E-Books (HEB)

 

ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of approximately 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities.  These titles are offered by the ACLS in collaboration with thirty learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and the Michigan Publishing division at the University of Michigan Library. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars. These are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature. 

Major Fields currently covered include Area and Historical Studies in the following: African, American, Asian, Australasian/Oceanian, Byzantine, Canadian, Caribbean, Central European, Comparative/World, Eastern European/Russian, Economic, Environmental, European, Jewish Studies, Latin American, Law, LGBT/Queer Studies, Medicine, Methods/Theory, Middle East, Native Peoples of the Americas, Science/Technology, Women’s Studies.

HEB also encompasses the fields of Archaeology, Art and Architectural History, Biblical Studies, Bibliographic Studies, Film and Media Studies, Folklore, Linguistics, Literature, Literary Criticism, Musicology, Performance Studies (theatre, music, dance), Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, and Sociology.

Accessing ACLS Humanities E-Books (HEB)

Use this link to  access the complete collection of ACLS Humanities E-books (HEB) collection.

All titles available on ACLS Humanities E-books (HEB) are also listed on SAULCAT.

On-campus users will get full-text access without needing to login.

Off-campus you will need to login to access ACLS Humanities E-Books (HEB):

  • Access ACLS Humanities E-Books (HEB) from the link above, or from a title in SAULCAT and click "Connect to Electronic Resources"
  • There isn't a login option on the HEB homepage, so search or browse for the item you want and click the title to view it.
  • This takes you to the record for the item, Click "Log in for full access".
  • Click the dropdown list of institutions, and scroll down and select "University of St Andrews" and click "Login"
  • At the University of St Andrews SSO page enter your username and password
  • You will be taken back to the record you were viewing and will have full-text access.

Can I access all content in ACLS Humanities E-Books (HEB)?

Yes, the University has access to all the content in ACLS Humanities E-Books (HEB).

Are there limits on the number of concurrent users accessing a title?

No, ACLS Humanities E-Book titles have no limits on concurrent access, meaning an entire class can all access a particular title at the same time.

Formats on ACLS Humanities E-Books (HEB)

The majority of ACLS Humanities E-Book titles are provided in page image format, this allows these titles to be view as an image, text or PDF.  These E-Books display with a red "Page image" icon .  

A small number of titles are available as XML files, rather than being image files these are text-encoded files which include the text of the printed publication, but also incorporate images, recordings and links within them.  These are indicated with a blue computer screen icon 

Reading Online, Printing and Downloading ACLS Humanities E-Books (HUB)

Reading Online

You can read the full-text of all ACLS Humanities E-Book titles on screen.

For those in image format you can choose to view in a page view format, view a text file, or view a PDF version - please note that the PDF version will only provide a 3-page file, not a whole chapter/section/ebook.

For those in XML format you can view these on-screen only.  Additional embedded materials, links, enlargeable images, audio and video clips and other supplementary media are available within these files.  

 Printing

You can print within standard copyright restrictions from any image format title in ACLS Humanities E-Book title by selecting the PDF option.  This permits you to print 1 chapter or 10% from a book, whichever is greatest.  When you select the PDF option this will download up to 10 pages.  You can print or sabe the file.

 Downloading

These Ebooks cannot be downloaded in their entirety, at most you can save a 10 page PDF files (see printing above), the same copyright restrictions apply as with printing.

 Titles with the XML format cannot be printer or downloaded.

 Mobiles and Tablets

All ACLS Humanities E-Book (HUB) titles can be viewed on mobile and tablet devices using any browser.  If you want to download PDFs (only 10pages at a time, and in compliance with the copyright restrictions described in the "Printing" section above) you will need to ensure you have a PDF reader installed on your phone or tablet.

Examples of ACLS Humanities E-Books (HEB) titles

When you click the book image or title you will be taken to the record on SAULCAT, from here you can open the link to the ebook.

Ask a Librarian

Need help? Chat to Library Staff, Monday - Friday, 9.00-17.00 using the box below.  When "Ask a Librarian" is unavailable email library@st-andrews.ac.uk with your question.