Divinity: Theology
The St Andrews Encyclopaedia of Theology is an online, free-to-access encyclopaedia of the highest academic standards, treating the full discipline of Theology with rigour and clarity.
The Encyclopaedia is still a work in progress and some areas of work are still at an early stage, but it will ultimately incorporate intellectual content from all major religious traditions.
Engagement will proceed in distinct stages: an initial phase, assembling a network of Senior Editors and advisors, and a main phase, in which articles are commissioned and authored. At present, the Encyclopaedia is engaging with the following traditions:
- Christianity (main phase)
- Judaism (entering main phase)
- Islam (entering main phase)
- Buddhism (entering main phase)
- Hinduism (initial phase).
Contents
Getting started
Good places to begin research on a topic or get a feel for a subject
- reference works
- introductory works
- e-books
Internet resources
Links to websites and online collections of theological texts
Going further
Suggestions for resources for more in-depth study
Major reference series
Multi-volume theological dictionaries and encyclopedias
Search the Library
Getting started - reference works
Dictionaries and encyclopedias provide short helpful summaries and useful bibliographies. These can be found in the Reference sections of St Mary's Library (next to Library service desk) and in the Main Library (top floor). A number are also available online. Some key titles are:
The Oxford Companion to Christian ThoughtOver 600 articles covering all the big themes of theology and belief; biographies of major Christian thinkers; surveys of Christian thought by period, denomination, and region; plus current issues such as globalization, medical ethics, and sexuality.
The Dictionary of Historical TheologyA major reference work on the key figures, theological movements, and significant texts that have shaped Christian thought.
New Dictionary of TheologyA good one-volume dictionary: concise, well-written articles on systematic and historical theology.
Getting started 2 - introductory works
The library has a number of very useful introductory works to help you grasp the basics of Christian Theology and point you in the right direction for further study. These include the following.
Christian Theology: an introduction by One of a number of very good introductions. See also the accompanying "Christian Theology Reader" and "The Practice of Theology: A Reader" edited by Gunton, Holmes & Rae
Theology: a very short introduction by This concise guide tackles a number of the big issues to give you a flavour of the whole subject.
Faith seeking understanding : an introduction to Christian theology by A very popular textbook covering all of the major issues of Christian systematic theology.
Getting started 3 - e-books
Books in the Cambridge Companions series provide a very useful way into a subject. They are one-volume introductions with key articles written by leading scholars in the field. There are several hundred titles in the series, many of them covering theology and related disciples - these are just a few examples:
The Cambridge Companion to Christian DoctrineFourteen specially commissioned essays written by leading theologians give a broad perspective on key topics in Christian theology.
The Cambridge Companion to Christian Philosophical TheologyTopics covered include the Trinity, the existence of God, resurrection, sin and salvation, and the problem of evil.
The Cambridge Companion to Karl BarthJust one of a number of books in this series devoted to the thought of particular theologians.
Going further
Here are some resources you may useful for advanced study:
Reference worksThe Library has a number of comprehensive multi-volume dictionaries and encyclopedias on Theology and Religion (classmarks Ref BL, BR, BT and BX). Some of the main titles are listed in the Major Reference Works box below.
JournalsWe have online access to a large number of Theology journals - search for articles using Library search or Atla Religion Database. Print journals can be found in the Main Library, mostly at per BL, per BT and per BX classmarks.
Online databasesThe Digital Karl Barth Library contains electronic versions of his major works, in German and in English translation.
Links to other online resources are listed in the Internet Resources box to the right.
Major collectionsMuch theological research involves looking at how major theologicans have treated particular subjects. The Library has good coverage of works by key figures from the Early Church to the present day.
Search for authors using the Library catalogue.
Major reference works
In addition to those listed in 'Getting Started' above, here are some dictionaries and encyclopedias which are good information sources for studying Theology.
Religion past & present: encyclopedia of theology and religionThis 14-volume work comprising 15,000 entries is a key resource for research in theology.
[English translation of Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart, 4th edition]
The Encyclopedia of ChristianityA 5-volume work describing Christianity through its 2000-year history within a global context. It includes statistics from over 170 countries, historical content and articles on current issues.
[English translation of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon, 3rd revised edition]
Theologische Realenzyklopädie (TRE)If you read German, the TRE is the most comprehensive encyclopedia of theology and religious studies.- The Brill Dictionary of ReligionOver 500 entries on both the major world religions and a very wide variety of other religious phenomena.
New Catholic EncyclopediaA multi-volume work on Roman Catholic history and belief edited by the faculty of The Catholic University of America.
The Encyclopedia of ProtestantismMore than 1,000 lengthy articles on denominations, biographies, cultural and social issues, movements, and theology, each with a useful bibliography.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of ReligionA major encyclopedia that seeks to provide accurate and dispassionate information about the world's religions and topics of research and debate.
The motto of St Mary's College is
"In principio erat Verbum" -
In the beginning was the Word.
Internet resources for Theology
A selection of useful Web resources for Theology and on individual theologians: mouse over the titles to see what they cover.
- CCEL (Christian Classics Ethereal Library)This digital library comprises hundreds of classic Christian books. It is particularly good on works by Early Church Fathers.
- ATLA Websites on ReligionA selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources, including syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, and software.
- New Advent (Catholic Theology)Includes the full text of the Catholic Encyclopedia, Aquinas’ Summa Theologica, writings of the early Church Fathers, and a large number of papal and Vatican documents. (Links at top right of screen.)
- Monachos.net (Orthodox Theology)A site dedicated to the study of Orthodox Christianity through its patristic, monastic and liturgical heritage.
- Women & TheologyThis page provides a selective, annotated list of links to Internet resources related to women in religion, feminist theology, and the feminine divine.
- Stanford Encylopedia of PhilosophyA great resource for philosophical theology with contributions from leading experts from around the world. Another first-class philosophical resource is the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (available in print and online via the search box on the Library homepage).
- Academic RoomA new and growing online platform that was developed at Harvard University to facilitate interdisciplinary engagements among scholars and researchers around the world. It plans to make videos, audio and texts available and to provide a forum for discussion.
- Thomas AquinasAn online version of Aquinas' Summa Theologica. Links to other works can be found at http://www.aquinasonline.com/
- AugustineTranslations of the major works of Augustine of Hippo, plus an introduction, commentary, images and more.
- Digital Karl Barth Library This link opens in a new windowThe Digital Karl Barth Library is a full-text database featuring Barth's magnum opus Chruch Dogmatics, in German and English, and the first 45 volumes of his Gesamtausgabe, which includes hundreds of letters, sermons, lectures, conversations, and academic writings.
- Jonathan EdwardsThe Jonathan Edwards Center at Yale University provides online and offline learning environments that encourage critical appraisal of the life and thought of America’s premier theologian.
- Soren KierkegaardD Anthony Storm’s Commentary on Kierkegaard features information on every published work and article with publication data, quotes, detailed commentary, and images along with supplementary materials to aid your research.
- Martin LutherA number of key works by Luther in English translation
- Luther in GermanMost of Luther's works (Weimarer Ausgabe edition) available as PDFs
- Papal LettersRegisters and letters of the popes from the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries
- Videos from St John's CollegeSt John's College in the University of Nottingham have assembled a series of YouTube videos on biblical and theological themes
