Comparative Literature: Subject Databases
LION (Literature Online)
"Literature Online is the leading online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English. It is a fully integrated service that combines the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources. Literature Online’s collection of accurate poetry, prose and drama is relied upon by researchers around the world on a daily basis and the essential criticism and reference resources, including an ever-growing library of full-text journals and author biographies, helps keep you up to date on the latest research into every aspect of literary and linguistic study." (Publisher's Description)
Other Major Literature Databases
- Historical Texts This link opens in a new windowformerly known as Jisc Historic books, full-text; contains the full text or page images of over 350,000 books published in Britain from 1475 to 1900. The service draws together content from two of the best-known and long established early book collections: Early English Books Online (EEBO) and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) plus 65,000 19th century books from the British Library collection
- MLA International Bibliography (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowindex to papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies on literature, language, linguistics and folklore, from 1926 onward. Produced by the Modern Language Association of America
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowWe have access to the whole of the "Literature" collection, and most of the "Philosophy (Foundation 2012-2013)" collection. In addition each subject area has a selection of freely accessible resources.
- Proquest Dissertations and Theses with Full Text (PQDT) This link opens in a new windowthe world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day
Subject Databases
- Twentieth Century Drama This link opens in a new window"Featuring plays from noted playwrights as well as lesser known dramatists, the collection includes works by over 300 writers" (from database)
- African Writers Series This link opens in a new windowThis online edition includes over 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Nelson Mandela, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih.
- Defining Gender 1450-1910 This link opens in a new windowexplores the study and analysis of gender. Primary sources from the fifteenth to early twentieth century provide an insight into both traditional models of gender and contemporary perceptions
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) via Historical Texts This link opens in a new windowdigital facsimiles of nearly every book published in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and other works in English printed from 1473-1700.
- East View Databases This link opens in a new windowgives access to a variety of Russian databases and publications including The Moscow Times, Moscow University Press journals, Russian Social Sciences & Humanities collection, Literaturnaia Gazeta and Pravda Digital Archive
- Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period This link opens in a new windowIrish Women Poets of the Romantic Period includes more than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. Compiled and edited by Stephen Behrendt of the University of Nebraska, the database also offers numerous biographical and critical essays prepared by leading scholars specifically for the project
- Torrossa.it! Editoria Italiano Online This link opens in a new windowCasalini libri's full text platform offers access to e-books and e-journals from over 150 Italian publishers.