International History and International Relations: Other Libraries/ Archives
Using other libraries
You can access many University Libraries and National Libraries to use their archives. However, you may need to arrange this in advance so you should contact the Library well ahead of visting to find out what information they require. You will normally need your University of St Andrews student card but you may also be asked to complete a membership form.
Use the links below to identify additional archival material:
- National Register of Archives - maintained by the National Archives. Use this site for locating archives of people or places in Britain
- The National Register of Archives for Scotland (NRAS) - information about papers held by private individuals and families, landed estates, clubs and societies, businesses and law firms.
- Imperial War Museums - Collections catalogues held by the Imperial War Museum
- Subject Guides at the National Archives -Useful guides which explain how to find, access and understand records to support your research. Includes guides on both World Wars.
- The Great War Archive - Contains items contributed by the general public. Every item originates from, or relates to, someone's experience of the First World War, either abroad or at home.
- The First World War Poetry Digital Archive - Collections of primary material from major poets of the period, supplemented by a range of multimedia artefacts from the Imperials War Museum.
- First World War.com - Use the sources section of the website to find primary documents that document the course of the war vincluding official government material. There is also a section on diaries and memoirs which include personal accounts of the war.
- 1914-1918 Online - a collection of First World War websites. Items of particular interest to this module may include the sections on Power and Violence. If you are looking at the role of individual countries during this period there are also sections relating to each one.
- BBC- World War One - a useful starting point. Articles on a range of topics including the descent into war and Peace: Versailles and the League of Nations
The Library at the London School of Economics and Political Science has major collections of publications from governments and intergovernmental organisations. Publications collected are those which contain social or economic date and illustrate the process of government. Special deposit agreements have resulted in an extensive collection of US Federal Government Publications since 1903, a comprehensive collection of UN publications and publications from the European Community since 1964.
If you wish to visit the library please fill out the self-registration form prior to your visit.