Skip to main content

Remote Access to Online Resources: P-S

How to access online journal articles, e-books and use SEEKER when you are away from the University.

Palgrave Macmillan

Click on  how to access

Scroll down the screen until you see the information box on the right hand side. Then choose Institution/Athens Login. Choose your location – UK and then choose University of St Andrews.

 

Please note:

After following these steps you will gain access to the full Palgrave Connect e-books platform (not just to the title you began with). To get back to the title you want (in the example above, Why Music Moves Us), search for the book title within Palgrave – it will now have a green unlocked padlock beside it which means you will be able access it.

 About:

Palgrave Connect 
Palgrave Macmillan's e-book platform for access to over 2,400 e-books purchased by the Library.  Subjects covered include Politics & International Studies, Religion & Philosophy, Social & Cultural Studies, Language & Linguistics, Economics & Finance, History, Business & Management. 

Passport (formerly Passport GMID - Global Market Information Database)

About: Passport

full-text; online business information system providing key business intelligence on countries, consumers, lifestyles, markets and companies. It offers a range of international market research.

Off campus access: Choose UK Institution Users Login. 

Then select University of St Andrews as the organisation. Login with your University username and password.

Periodicals Archive Online

About:

Periodicals Archive Online  Collections 1-IV
full-text; archive of hundreds of major full-text arts, humanities and social sciences journals, published between 1770 and 1995. It also includes journals of historical interest that began publication in the 19th Century. 

Click on “Remote Users: login via your home institution” (far right of screen). 

Select United Kingdom from the list of Regions and then University of St Andrews.

Project Muse

Choose UK Federation from the list of federations. Choose  University of St Andrews from the list of institutions.

About:

Project Muse (Humanities Collection) 
a collection of 146 academic full-text e-journals in the humanities. Seehttp://muse.jhu.edu/journals/ for subscribed content (marked in green)

ProQuest

Short demo:

 

PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO & Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Login:

Select "UK Higher Education" for the region or group.

Scroll down to find "University of St Andrews"

Sign in with your University username nd password at the SSO page.

Reaxys

About:

Reaxys 
web-based system for searching the world's most extensive collection of organic, organo-metallic, and inorganic chemistry database, by structure, substructure, reaction, text, and property data. It is based on the CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin and Patent Chemistry databases, and covers over 3,800 journals and patents from various patent offices, from 1771 to date.

Click on the Go button alongside Institutional Access. 

Select UK Access Management Federation from the regions list. Choose University of St Andrews

SAGE journals

Click on the "Sign in" button.
From the options click on the "Login via Your Institution" link.

For "Location", select "UK Access Management Federation".

For "Institution" select "University of St Andrews".

Click "Select"

Login to the University SSO page with your University username and password.

SAGE Knowledge (ebooks)

Sage ebooks through SAGE Knowledge:

Click "Log in to SAGE Knowledge".
From the options, click on "Login via your institution".
Select "University of St Andrews" from the drop down list.
Click on the "Go to Login" button and sign in to the SSO page with your University username and password.

Science Direct and Scopus

Login:

Click "Sign in" at the top of the page.

Click "Other institutional login"

Start typing "University of St Andrews".

Click "University of St Andrews".

Sign in with University username and password on SSO page.

SEEKER

Login:

Select "UK Higher Education" for the region or group.

Scroll down to find "University of St Andrews"

Sign in with your University username nd password at the SSO page.

SEEKER - SEEKER is a new search service which allows you to do a single search across most of the Library's resources - the many online databases (which provide e-journal articles, newspaper reports, newswires, conference proceedings, e-books, book reviews, open access material, theses, and much more), and also SAULCAT, the Library catalogue.

SpringerLink

Off campus access: Select Login (right of screen).

Click on the link for Institutional/Athens login.

Select University of St Andrews from the Institution list and then click the Log in via Shibboleth button.

You will be returned to the Springer homepage where you will need to search for the item (ebook or journal) again.

About:

SpringerLink 

From website (http://www.springerlink.com/help/faq/): "SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer. SpringerLink currently offers 2,767 fully peer-reviewed journals and 53,163 books online."

Subject Guide

Sharon Nangle
Contact:
University Library
North Street
St Andrews
KY16 9TR
01334 462204