Skip to main content

Remote Access to Online Resources: K-O

How to access online journal articles, e-books and use SEEKER when you are away from the University.

LION (Literature Online)

Click "Log in through your library or institution".

Select region as "United Kingdon (UK Access Management Federation)".

Select your library or institution: "University of St Andrews".

Click Login.

Sign in with your University username and password on the SSO page.

 

Lyell Collection

About: Lyell Collection 

permanent access to the Geological Society of London's complete collection of earth science e-journals, Special Publications and major book series.

Click on Login at the top of the screen. 

Choose the option which says “Login via your institution”.  

Choose UK Access Management Federation and University of St Andrews. 

MLA Bibliography

Choose Remote Users: login via your home organization.

Select United Kingdom for the region and then University of St Andrews

Or, if using the ProQuest platform, like LION above: 

Click "Log in through your library or institution".

Select region as "United Kingdon (UK Access Management Federation)".

Select your library or institution: "University of St Andrews".

Click Login.

Sign in with your University username and password on the SSO page.

MyiLibrary

Use the Institutional Access section of the login page. Select UK Access Management Federation from location list. Select University of St Andrews.

About:

MyiLibrary 
access to over 1,000 full-text e-books purchased by the Library. Subjects covered include Classics, Geography, History, International Relations, Psychology, Science, etc; one concurrent access.

NetLibrary books

NetLibrary books

Choose UK Higher Education from the list of regions and groups then Select University of St Andrews from the list of institutions

About:

NetLibrary 
access to a growing collection of full-text e-books purchased by the Library. Subjects covered include Physics, Geography, International Relations, etc; one or two concurrent accesses. 

Nexis UK


Click on Academic Sign-In. Choose UK Access Management Federation from the drop down list. Choose University of St Andrews

About:

Nexis UK 
covers regional, national and international newspapers, newswires, country reports, transcripts of television broadcasts, magazines, trade journals, etc

Opera in Video (Music Online)

Click on Sign in at the top right of the screen.

Select University of St Andrews from the Shibboleth Credentials box at the bottom of the next screen and Login.

At the next screen enter your University username and password.

The first time you use the resource you will be asked to register so that you can shareand create clips.

Follow the on screen instructions to register.

The next time you visit you will first login as the University of St Andrews and then sign in to access your personalised space

About


Opera in Video

Information from website (http://opiv.alexanderstreet.com/)

Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Unlike most other resources, for the Oxford DNB, ignore the Institutional Login option and instead:

Click on Login with Athens/Access Management Federation:

 

Search for University of St Andrews and click to be taken to the University's Single Sign On page:

 

OED

Login:

Click "Sign in".

Click "Athens/Access Management Federation Login".

Start typing "University of St Andrews".

Click "University of St Andrews".

Login with your University username and password on the SSO page.

Oxford Scholarship Online and Oxford Reference Online

You must find the material you want in the database and then try to access a chapter or article before the correct login option is available (below). The initial "Sign in"screen does not allow you to login via your institution. Entering your username and password there will not work. Find the link that says "login" near the bottom of the screen.

 

The subscriber login box is on the left hand side of the screen. Click on Login with Athens/Access Management Federation. Choose University of St Andrews

Short video demo:

 

About:

Oxford Scholarship Online 
access to over 2,570 Oxford University Press e-books in Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science and Religion.

Oxford Reference Online 
Information from website (http://www.oxfordreference.com/pages/new.html):

"In Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection you will find a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations from 175+ Oxford reference titles, many of which are in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions series, plus all 20,000 quotations from the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations."

Subject Guide

Sharon  Nangle's picture
Sharon Nangle
Contact:
University Library
North Street
St Andrews
KY16 9TR
01334 462204