Skip to main content

Remote Access to Online Resources: A-E

How to access online journal articles, e-books and use SEEKER when you are away from the University.

ATLA

Login  - use the link below.

Select "UK Higher Education" for the region or group.

Scroll down to find "University of St Andrews"

Sign in with your University username nd password at the SSO page.

ACM Digital Library

Click on Sign-in (top right of screen). Click on Show the list of institutions. Choose University of St Andrews.

About:

ACM Digital Libraries contains every journal published by the Association for Computing Machinery. This includes journals and newsletter articles and conference proceedings, from the 1950s onward.

British Library Sounds

When off campus:

  • Use the link in the A-Z guide of databases (given below)
  • Type "University of St Andrews" when asked to "Type the name of your organisation" 
  • Click "Login" or "Continue"
  • Sign in using your University username and password to the University SSO page.

 

Business Source Premier

Login  - use the link below or on the A-Z Databases Guide or on SAULCAT.

Select "UK Higher Education" for the region or group.

Scroll down to find "University of St Andrews"

Sign in with your University username nd password at the SSO page.

Cambridge Books Online

About: 

Cambridge Books Online is a collection of Cambridge University Press e-books.

Please remember that the Library does not have access to all of the books on Cambridge Books Online. If, after logging in, you cannot access a book, please search SAULCAT for the title of the book to check if we have bought access to it. 

When you are not in the University, this is how you login to this database:

Off-campus access:

  • click on "Institutional log in" near the top right hand of the screen
  • scroll to the Search by keyword, and enter "Andrews" in the box, and click Search
  • choose University of St Andrews from the results
  • then login through the Single Sign On page, using your University Account Username and Password
  •  if you are redirected to the Cambridge Core homepage, search again for what you needed.

Cambridge Companions Online

About Cambridge Companions Online:

This database gives you access to The Complete Cambridge Companions series composed of the two sub-sets - the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture - invaluable both for teaching and researchNew Companions are added as they are published. All titles are listed in SAULCAT 

When you are not in the University, this is how you login to this database:

Off-campus access:

  • click on "Institutional log in" near the top right hand of the screen
  • scroll to the Search by keyword, and enter "Andrews" in the box, and click Search
  • choose University of St Andrews from the results
  • then login through the Single Sign On page, using your University Account Username and Password
  • if you are redirected to the Cambridge Core homepage, search again for what you needed.

Cambridge Histories

About Cambridge Histories Online:

This database gives you access to over 250 volumes of the Cambridge Histories, a unique scholarly historical reference series. Includes titles such as The Cambridge Modern HistoryThe Cambridge History of English LiteratureThe Cambridge Medieval History, The Cambridge Ancient History, histories of India, the British Empire, China, Japan, Africa, Latin America, Islam, Iran, economic history, political thought, literature, philosophy, etc. New titles are added as they are published. All titles are listed in SAULCAT 

Off-campus access:

  • click on "Institutional log in" near the top right hand of the screen
  • scroll to the Search by keyword, and enter "Andrews" in the box, and click Search
  • choose University of St Andrews from the results
  • then login through the Single Sign On page, using your University Account Username and Password
  • if you are redirected to the Cambridge Core homepage, search again for what you needed.

Credo Reference

About: CREDO Reference 

full-text reference books - dictionaries, encyclopaedias, thesauri, books of quotations, atlases and subject-specific titles covering everything from arts to astronomy, science to Shakespeare. Contains over three million entries, 60,000 images, 90,000 interactive maps and 180,000 audio pronunciation files.

Off campus access:

  • In the box "Search for an institution by name or location" under the option "By Name" search for St Andrews and then select "University of St Andrews (Scotland)"
  • Sign in to the UNiversity Single Sign On page with your University Username and password. 

Ignore the other options.

Digimap

About: Digimap - Ordnance Survey Collection 

provides current Ordnance Survey maps and data for the whole of the UK, either to download or to use within GIS or CAD applications, or as simple or customised maps generated online, for viewing and printing. Digimap Marine is also subscribed to 
Note: initial registration required upon first access

Click on Login via UK Federation on the main screen. 

Type St Andrews in the search box and then login.

EBSCO: SEEKER, Business Source Premier, ATLA, PsycArticles, PsycInfo, Psychology & Behavioural Sciences Collection

Choose UK Higher Education from the list of regions and groups then Select University of St Andrews from the list of institutions

About:

SEEKER - SEEKER is a new search service which allows you to do a single search across most of the Library's resources - the many online databases (which provide e-journal articles, newspaper reports, newswires, conference proceedings, e-books, book reviews, open access material, theses, and much more), and also SAULCAT, the Library catalogue.

Business Source Premier - full-text; a business research database, containing the full text of more than2,100 journals, back to 1965. Coverage includes marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

ATLA - index and full-text; combines an index to over 1,500 journals on all aspects of religion, including education, ethics, history, liturgy, observances, rites and theology, with full-text access to over 100 major religion and theology journals.  Covers from 1924-present.  Updated every three months.

PsycArticles - full-text; a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Covers over 70 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), and other allied publishers.

PsycInfo - citations, with abstracts, to over 2,400 journals in psychology and the behavioural sciences, from 1887 onward. Also includes references to book and book chapters. Compiled by the American Psychological Association. Topics covered include all aspects of psychology, as well as behavioural aspects of education, medicine, sociology, law and management.

Psychology & Behavioural Sciences Collection - full-text; collection of 570 journals and 48 books and monographs, particularly strong in child and adolescent psychology, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, observational and experimental methods, and various areas of counselling.

EEBO - Early English Books Online

 

Choose Remote Users: login via your home institution. Choose UK as your location. Choose University of St Andrews

About:

Early English Books Online (EEBO) via Chadwyck (ProQuest)
full-text; more than 125,000 titles published between 1473 and 1700, starting with the earliest printed works in the English language.

Subject Guide

Sharon  Nangle's picture
Sharon Nangle
Contact:
University Library
North Street
St Andrews
KY16 9TR
01334 462204