Divinity: Church History
Guide to Resources in Divinity
Contents
Getting started
Good places to begin research on a topic or get a feel for a subject
- reference works
- introductory works
- e-books
Internet resources
Links to websites and online collections of historical texts
Going further
Suggestions for resources for more in-depth study
Major reference series
Multi-volume dictionaries and encyclopedias of Church History
Search the Library
Getting started - reference works
Dictionaries and encyclopedias provide short helpful summaries and useful bibliographies. These can be found in the Reference sections of St Mary's Library (next to Library service desk) and in the Main Library (top floor). A number are also available online. Some key titles are:
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian ChurchThe best one-volume dictionary of the history of the Church. It is noted for the breadth of its scope and its objectivity, with scholars from across the religious spectrum contributing articles on a huge range of topics and personalities. As well as history and biographies, it takes in theology, study of the Bible, Christian denominations, and a host of other subjects.
Encyclopedia of Early ChristianityA comprehensive survey of Christianity's first six centuries. The Encyclopedia digests an enormous amount of information, exploring all aspects of its subject from theological, historical and literary viewpoints.
Dictionary of Scottish Church History & TheologyThis one-volume reference encompasses the full variety of Christianity in Scotland, both ancient and modern. Over 2,000 articles cover a wide variety of subjects, including biographies, theology, hymnology, liturgy, missions, art and architecture, and historical events.
Getting started 2 - introductory works
A History of Christianity: The First Three Thousand Years by An important recent survey of the historical development of Christianity, looking at the subject in a global context
The Medieval Theologians by This comprehensive introduction to medieval theology is part of a series covering the whole span of Christian Theology. Other key titles in the series include 'The First Christian Theologians', 'The Reformation Theologians' and 'The Modern Theologians
The European Reformations by One of several very helpful aids to studying the Reformation. Also useful are Denis R. Janz (ed.): "A Reformation Reader" BR301.J2G08; Euan Cameron: "The European Reformation" BR305.2C2; and "The Cambridge Companion to Reformation Theology" BR305.3C2.
Modern Church History by Part of the helpful SCM Core Text series, this volume provides an introduction to global Christianity from 1648 to the present.
Getting started 3 - e-books
The titles below are examples of e-books the Library provides access to. Most are also available in print form.
Cambridge Companions series'Companion' series provide a very useful way into a subject. They are generally one-volume introductions with key articles written by leading scholars in the field. The Cambridge Companion series is particularly good. It includes volumes on Luther, Calvin, Augustine, Aquinas, and many more.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian ChurchBased on the highly acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, this is an indispensable guide to every aspect of the Christian religion and life, including theology, patristic scholarship, churches and denominations, the church calendar and organization, and the Bible.
The Cambridge History of ChristianityA major nine volume series, The Cambridge History of Christianity provides a comprehensive overview of the essential events, persons, places and issues from the emergence of the Christian religion to the present.
Who's Who in Christianity by This useful book encompasses both Eastern and Western churches and the lives and opinions of personalities who have shaped the past twenty Christian centuries. From Abelard to Zwingli, they're all here.
Past Masters seriesCollection of full-text editions of the collected works of a number of major authors including Calvin, Aquinas and Hegel.
The New Cambridge History of the BibleA major series concerned with the history of the Bible, its transmission and interpretation, and on its influence on education, scholarship, art and literature, as well as on the life of the Christian church.
Going further
Here are some resources you may useful for advanced study:
Reference worksThe Library has a number of comprehensive multi-volume dictionaries and encyclopedias on Theology and Religion (classmarks Ref BR and BX). Some of the main titles are listed in the Reference Works box below.
BiographyThe Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an unparalleled resource for biographies of British historical figures. Similar works exist for other nationalities. See also BBKL (below), The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, Dictionary of Scottish Church History and Theology (both listed above).
AbstractsThe Historical Abstracts database covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward. Indexes over 1,800 journals, from 1955 to the present.
Online resourcesThe Library has access to over 300,000 full-text versions of historical works via JISC Historic Books - these can be accessed via Library search.
On the Web, the Internet Archive (http://www.archive.org/details/texts) is a good alternative to Google Books.
Major reference series
In addition to those listed in 'Getting Started' above, here are some dictionaries and encyclopedias which are good information sources for studying Church History. These can be found in the Reference sections of St Mary's Library (next to Library service desk) and in the Main Library (top floor)
Religion past & present: encyclopedia of theology and religionThis 14-volume work comprising 15,000 entries is a key resource for research in theology.
[English translation of Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart, 4th edition]
The Encyclopedia of ChristianityA 5-volume work describing Christianity through its 2000-year history within a global context. It includes statistics from over 170 countries, historical content and articles on current issues.
[English translation of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon, 3rd revised edition]
Theologische Realenzyklopädie (TRE)If you read German, the TRE is the most comprehensive encyclopedia of theology and religious studies.
Dictionnaire d'histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques / Louvain Dictionary of Church HistoryWith over 30 volumes to date, this work is building into an immense resource for Church History (text in French).
New Catholic EncyclopediaA multi-volume work on Roman Catholic history and belief edited by the faculty of The Catholic University of America.
The Encyclopedia of ProtestantismMore than 1,000 lengthy articles on denominations, biographies, cultural and social issues, movements, and theology, each with a useful bibliography.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the ReformationThe best general reference work on the Reformation. It brings great clarity to one of the most tumultous periods in European History, and its unique breadth of coverage makes it an unparalleled source of information on the personalities and events of the era.
St Andrews is rich in Church history: these stones commemorate the reformer Patrick Hamilton.
Internet resources for Church History
A selection of useful Web resources for Church History: mouse over the titles to see what they cover.
- CCEL (Christian Classics Ethereal Library)This digital library comprises hundreds of classic Christian books. It is particularly good on works by Early Church Fathers.
- Internet Christian Library: Guide to Early Church DocumentsA collection of annotated links to online versions of an assortment of primary texts from apostolic and patristic sources.
- EarlyChurch.org.ukIncludes detailed bibliographies on creeds, councils, people, issues, heresies and much more, covering the period from the foundation of the Church to c.600.
- MedievalChurch.org.ukTakes over were EarlyChurch.org.uk left off, providing resources on Church History up to the time of the dawn of the Reformation. Besides significant people the site has a wealth of material on medieval sects, doctrines and the crusades.
- Project Wittenberg (Luther and Lutheranism)Works by and about Martin Luther and other Lutherans taking in quotations, commentaries, hymns, statements of faith, theological treatises and biographies.
- Post-Reformation Digital LibraryPRDL is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.)
- Theopedia: an encyclopedia of biblical ChristianityTheopedia is a website using wiki technology to create an encyclopaedia of Christianity with an emphasis on the Reformed theology tradition. In addition to written articles, the site also provides links to a substantial collection of multimedia resources. The site is fully searchable, with a useful list of key topics on the front page.
- Church History timeline (Notes on Church History)Notes on Church History is an annotated timeline listing the events and people that have come to form the core of Christian history from the first to the twentieth centuries. Helpful if you need a handy overview.
- AdHoc Image and Text Database on the History of ChristianityA web-searchable database hosted by Yale Divinity School that contains electronic images and texts related to the history of Christianity.
- Catholic EncyclopediaThe Encyclopedia attempts to cover all aspects of Roman Catholic faith and history taking in biographies, historical events, doctrine, and Catholic literature, art, and science. Use the search box (top right) to look up topics or browse alphabetically. N.B.: has been superceded by the New Catholic Encyclopedia, available in print format at Ref BX841.E6G03.
- Bible History tools and resourcesIncludes a collection of creeds, confessions and catechisms, a selection of classic works, writings of the early fathers, and the works of the Jewish historian Josephus.
- The Bible in English This link opens in a new windowThe text of 20 versions of the English Bible from the 10th to the 20th centuries, including 12 full Bibles, 5 New Testament texts, 2 versions of the Gospels, and Tyndale's translations of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament.
