Skip to main content

Newspapers: Home

This guide will help you access newspapers in the Library and online.

You have access to a wide range of newspapers through the Library, both in print and online. This page will help you to locate and access the issues that you need.

Many are available online through databases and digital archivesSome current print issues are available in the Main Library on the newspaper rack on Level 2 and with our periodicals on Level 4. We also hold archived print and microform runs in Special Collections and the Library Store.

If you cannot find the title you need, please let us know. Email: library@st-andrews.ac.uk

Online databases: current

These online databases contain an extensive range of recent and archived content from many national and international newspapers. 

Online databases: historical

These online archives provide access to different collections of historical newspapers.

Newspaper kiosk in New York, Photo 1941. Photo. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016. 
quest.eb.com/search/109_243531/1/109_243531/cite. Accessed 14 Feb 2018.


This search engine allows you to cross-search a number of historical archives. You might find it a good place to start if you are searching for a specific topic or author, regardless of publication.


You can also search a range of individual databases covering various time periods and geographic locations.

Individual newspapers online

If you are looking for content from a particular newspaper, you may find the following links helpful.

Tablet computer. Photograph. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 2 Mar 2017. 
quest.eb.com/search/132_1438062/1/132_1438062/cite. Accessed 14 Feb 2018.

Print issues

Current print issues of a range of newspapers are available to consult in the Main Library.

You will find the current issue in the newspapers racks on Level 2. For some titles, other recent issues are also kept with the periodical collections on Level 4. 

English language

Non-English language

A folded newspaper.. Photograph. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016. 
quest.eb.com/search/118_806695/1/118_806695/cite. Accessed 14 Feb 2018.

Print and microform archives

Print and microform archives are held in the Library Store or in Special Collections.

Consult the relevant catalogue record for details of our holdings.

Newspapers not available at St Andrews

If we do not have access to the newspaper you require, you may wish to consult the collection of the National Library of Scotland.

The NLS holds one of the largest newspaper collections in the UK and the largest in Scotland. You will need to register for a library card to use their collections.